Foundation Awards Scholarship to 12 Students

In conjunction with Police Week, the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department Foundation awarded 12 soon-to-be graduates of active-duty LVMPD commissioned and correction officers the Alyn Beck and Igor Soldo Memorial Scholarship.

This year’s recipients include Kyle Dunn, Sabrina Kelly, Tucker Klingonsmith, Jacqueline McCauslin, Ryan McGrath, Caitlyn Meyer, Lilly Pates, Justin Pence, Jayden Razo, Kaiden Smaka, Madison White, and Shane Young, all of whom were selected based on their GPA, overall merit and community engagement.

The scholarship program, named in memory of LVMPD officers Alyn Beck and Igor Soldo, who were tragically killed in an ambush in 2014, is now in its eighth year. The LVMPD Foundation raises scholarship funds through the generosity of individual and corporate donors. This year, the scholarships are funded in part by a grant from County Commission Recovery Outside Agency Grant (OAG) Program. To date, the Foundation has granted scholarships totaling more than $430,000 to 86 students in Southern Nevada.

Each recipient received a $5,000 Alyn Beck & Igor Soldo Memorial Scholarship from the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (LVMPD) Foundation. The scholarship is intended to offset the costs of tuition, books, and fees for each recipient’s college or vocational school.

The 2022 Alyn Beck & Igor Soldo Memorial Scholarship Presentation was held at the LVMPD Headquarters where Tom Kovach, Executive Director of the LVMPD Foundation, and Sheriff Joe Lombardo presented the Scholarships along with Ron Coury, who joined his business partner to start the Alyn Beck & Igor Soldo Memorial Scholarship and generously contributed $300,000 to the scholarship fund.